Gloriously Emotive

the-trappistine-1897         I’m sitting at The Ivy (all expenses paid by a soul I love more than my own) waiting (for the aforementioned soul to finish gracing Westminster’s sewers) and reflecting on human emotions and where they’re at their most observable. I’ve read somewhere, probably Grazia or Vogue or such other vapid advert runway, that human urges are truly at their most observable in restaurants. At this particular one, demonstrable appetites seem to have entered a ‘no-go’ zone. The plates are adorned with something that looks nowhere as nourishing as the price tag implied, almost barely the sapped essence of what we ordered. To observe an urge here would be to witness the paranormal, acknowledge ghosts exist and could be desired by size zero’s. What is observable in restaurants, workplaces (and everywhere else you’re thinking of) isn’t ‘urges’ at their purest, it’s constant ‘authored restraint’: That is: *Disguised emotions that imply urges without disturbing the immediate vicinity with emotional sound-waves that could incur attentions other than the calculated ones.* With enough practice the Pantone swatch of expressions we use to display ‘moderation’ and ‘self-possession’ becomes easier to browse through and identify. Consciously or otherwise. Good Emotional Intelligence and Body Language courses beyond what you’ll find in mainstream catalogues will push you to identify what informs the gestures or expressions we ourselves choose to use. Having attended those courses, and knowing the theory and consequences, I still opt for unrestrained everything. I am not doing the moment or my sweet company justice by authoring emotions. I want my life to reflect me at my raw-est. The dubious minds among you, dear readers, will equate this to ‘wearing one’s heart up one’s sleeve’; an ‘easy target’, ‘asking for it’. To those, all I can say is: ‘Get your face off my elbow so I can put it back in my sleeve.’ Transparent emotions don’t make victims, they make walking curses of those that try to bruise their bearers. More importantly, they make fulfilling lives for those that enjoy experiencing them.

Leave a Reply

