August 11 – Getting noticed.

Getting noticed is an art. Few master the very fine line between “being noticed and approved off” and “being negatively judged”.

Being taught, through tale or admonishment, that “being noticed” turns against you, keeps good people from showing their true, positive, worth and spurs the worthless on to “make their skid mark”.

I’ve probably misunderstood something? Let me know if you read something else. I think the tall wheat ear is cute and happily proud.

“The Two Wheat-ears”

A WIND went through a wheat-field ripe for cutting. Two ears side by side swayed on their stems, but one swayed with a bowed head while the other kept his, held high, over the rustling field that soon would be sheaves. It was he, therefore, whom the wind noticed first.
“You seem well satisfied with this year’s harvest”, said the wind, “for you hold yourself proudly.”
“Yes, yes,” chattered the upright ear of wheat, “I’ve reason to be proud of myself this year. I flatter myself I’ve earned the country’s thanks. I fancy the miller will welcome me with honour. And I think I may say I stand well in the eyes of God.”
“And you.” asked the wind to the ear that bowed his head, “what are you saying down there?”
The ear answered softly, “I am saying my grace.”
The wind passed on, observing, “The empty ear of corn holds its head the highest.

One thought on “August 11 – Getting noticed.

  1. The meaning is from corn fields, because corn that bears heavily will bend down and divert some of its energy from growing taller. But corn that is not pollinated will have empty ears, grow taller because it produces no seed, and stands up straight because it has no burden.

    I think this is a general thing, not specific to artists. Being somewhat reluctant (particularly when young) is a sign of self-awareness and a significant degree of competence. As in, “Unskilled and Unaware of It: How Difficulties in Recognizing One’s Own Incompetence Lead to Inflated Self-Assessments” by Dunning and Kreuger. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dunning%E2%80%93Kruger_effect#cite_note-Kruger-2

    for a given skill, incompetent people will:
    1. tend to overestimate their own level of skill;
    2. fail to recognize genuine skill in others;
    3. fail to recognize the extremity of their inadequacy;
    4, recognize and acknowledge their own previous lack of skill, IF they are exposed to training for that skill.

Leave a Reply

